The container’s success story started 50 years ago in the Port of Hamburg, on 31 May 1968, to be exact. Since then, the boxes have gone on to revolutionize shipping worldwide. That day marked the first arrival of a container ship in Hamburg, when the United States Lines’ 213-meter-long ‘American Lancer’ tied up at Burchardkai terminal. A new epoch began then, one that has transformed the Port of Hamburg dramatically.

 1968

Boxes keep the Port of Hamburg bustling

American Lancer at Burchardkai, Photo: HHLA

2018

Now, in 2018, its time to celebrate this anniversary – and containers certainly deserve one in Hamburg. With a volume of around nine million boxes per year, containers account for the biggest segment of cargo in Hamburg, Germany’s largest seaport and the most important shipping hub for the country’s strong export economy.

Video: 50 years of containers in Hamburg

Thalassa Elpida at Burchardkai, Photo: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

The container | a brilliant idea

Containers

We see them every day, but generally pay no attention to them. They are on the roads, aboard freight trains, parked at a supermarket. And anybody who ever visited the Port of Hamburg is sure to have seen a whole lot of them. Of course, we are talking about containers, an invention that has been moving the world for 50 years, affecting our lives daily, but that we largely ignore.

A very special box

Inside the box | The whole world in a box

Cargo

Seen from outside, containers look pretty commonplace, even plain and ordinary, but if you open one up, it is full of special things: bananas from South America, consumer electronics from Asia, wooden furniture from North America, wine from South Africa. Look around your own home and you will see that almost everything you are surrounded with and use every day was shipped in a container at some time. Containers literally carry the world in a box.

Bananas from South America, Photo: HHM / Stefan Breitenbach

Life packed into 20 feet

Container ships | Seagoing giants

There is hardly a more impressive spectacle than when an ultra-large ship calls in the Port of Hamburg. Onlookers on shore grab their cameras or smartphones to try to catch the mega-ship sailing elegantly up the Elbe River. Almost 4500 of these huge vessels reach Hamburg every year. They are the workhorses of world trade and also keep the German export business going.

Mega-ships on course to Hamburg

CMA CGM Margrit, Photo: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

Giants

Container Port Hamburg | Gateway to the World

Gateway to the World

The slogan ‘Hamburg – The Gateway to the World’ has been around for at least 80 years. It is still as true as ever. As Germany’s largest seaport and container port, Hamburg links the continents, serving as a hub for world trade and guaranteeing prosperity. It depends on elaborate technology and work processes, with people and machines functioning smoothly together. The port is a world of its own, never sleeping and always fascinating.

Admiralty flag, Photo: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

Courage to change

Container terminals | The art of stacking boxes

Terminals

The container handling equipment in the terminals is part of the usual port panorama, but seen up close it can seem gigantic and uncanny, almost like something out of a science fiction thriller. Container gantries, cranes, and van carriers, those long-legged container transporters, are real eye-catchers in the Port of Hamburg’s terminals. They are heavy-duty workhorses, operating at high capacity around the clock.

Container Terminal Altenwerder, Photo: HHM / Michael Lindner

Hightech made in Hamburg

Container transport | From the port to the hinterland

Hinterland

The Port of Hamburg is at the hub of worldwide trade. Goods from all over Europe are brought here to be shipped to the world. Travelling in the other direction, millions of tons of cargo arrive in Hamburg on their way to their destinations in Germany and throughout Europe. Distribution logistics is at least as complex as cargo handling in the port itself.

Container rail traffic, Photo: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

How does a teddy bear get to America?

Transportation in the future | Containers – and what next?

Future

Are containers the end of the road in developing new forms of cargo transport, or will the logistics industry come up with new and even more efficient solutions? What will container ships look like in 30 years? How will modern seaports have to function in the future? Shipping lines, port operating companies, innovation centres, and of course all kinds of research institutes around the world are busy working on these questions … and are developing some fascinating solutions.

View from the bridge, Photo: HHM / Achim Multhaupt

Turning a vision into reality

Visionaries | Authors of the Hamburg container story

Helmuth Kern, Photo: HHLA

“If you’re standing still, you’re losing ground” is a common saying in German, and it exactly fits how some people think – the visionaries, the pioneers, who are always trying to move ahead. To do things, not to react. To set trends, to go in new directions, to look to the future, to take risks. Many such outstanding people have shaped the Port of Hamburg with their ideas and decisions, but two stand out particularly: a truck driver from North Carolina and a merchant’s son from Hamburg.

Vision

The Hamburg Container Story

Video: 50 years of containers in the Port of Hamburg

In 1968 the first container ship entered the Port of Hamburg. Back then nobody would have guessed that these mundane steel boxes would revolutionize merchant shipping more than any other technology before. Today containers are the basis of global merchant shipping. This episode of smartPORT TV recounts 50 years of history of the colorful box.

Hafen Hamburg Marketing e.V. (HHM)

Pickhuben 6

20457 Hamburg

Germany

---

www.portofhamburg.com

In co-operation of

Hafen Hamburg Marketing e.V. (HHM),

Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG and

Hamburg Port Authority AöR

---

Imprint

 1968

2018

Vor 50 Jahren, genauer am 31. Mai 1968, begann im Hamburger Hafen der Siegeszug des Containers, der weltweit den Seeverkehr revolutioniert hat. An diesem Tag machte mit der 213 Meter langen „American Lancer“ der Reederei United States Lines erstmals ein Containerschiff im Hafen am Burchardkai fest. Es war der Startschuss in ein neues Zeitalter und hat den Wandel im Hamburger Hafen nachhaltig geprägt.

 1968

Boxen bewegen den Hamburger Hafen

American Lancer am Burchardkai, Foto: HHLA

2018

2018 wird dieses Datum gebührend gewürdigt – zu Recht, denn heute ist der Containerumschlag mit einem Volumen von jährlich etwa 9 Mio. Boxen das maßgebliche Ladungssegment an der Elbe. Der Hamburger Hafen ist somit der größte deutsche Hafen und wichtigste Warendrehscheibe für die deutsche Exportnation.

Video: 50 Jahre Container in Hamburg

Thalassa Elpida am Burchardkai, Foto: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

Der Container | Eine geniale Idee

Container

Tagtäglich sehen wir sie und nehmen sie doch kaum wahr. Vor uns auf der Autobahn, auf Güterzügen, beim Supermarkt auf dem Parkplatz. Und wer schon mal den Hamburger Hafen besucht hat, der sieht sie ganz besonders häufig. Die Rede ist vom Container, eine Erfindung, die unser Leben seit 50 Jahren jeden Tag aufs Neue beeinflusst, fast unbemerkt die Welt bewegt, und die wir trotzdem kaum kennen.

Eine Box mit Format

Inside the box | Die Welt in der Kiste

Ladung

Von außen sehen Container unscheinbar und eher schmucklos aus, öffnet man jedoch die Türen, dann haben sie es voll in sich: Bananen aus Südamerika, Unterhaltungselektronik aus Fernost, Holzmöbel aus Nordamerika, Wein aus Südafrika. Ein Blick in die eigene Wohnung verrät: Fast alles, was wir täglich gebrauchen und um uns haben, war irgendwann einmal in einem Container. Er ist die sprichwörtliche Verpackung unseres Alltags.

Bananen aus Südamerika, Foto: HHM / Stefan Breitenbach

Unser Leben auf 20 Fuß

Containerschiffe | Die Giganten der Meere

Es gibt kaum ein beeindruckenderes Schauspiel als der Anlauf eines Großcontainerschiffs im Hamburger Hafen. Dann zücken die Schaulustigen am Ufer ihre Handys, um festzuhalten, wie sich der Ozeanriese elegant die Elbe hochschiebt. Fast 4.500 dieser schwimmenden Warenhäuser erreichen Hamburg jedes Jahr. Sie sind die Lastenesel des Welthandels und halten die deutsche Außenwirtschaft am Laufen.

Superfrachter auf Kurs

CMA CGM Margrit, Foto: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

Giganten

Containerhafen Hamburg | Das Tor zur Welt

Tor zur Welt

Seit mindestens 80 Jahren heißt es in einem Slogan: „Hamburg – das Tor zur Welt“, und diese fünf Worte haben nichts an Wahrheit verloren. Als Deutschlands größter See- und Containerhafen ist Hamburg die Verbindung zwischen den Kontinenten, Drehscheibe für den Welthandel und Garant für unseren Wohlstand. Dahinter steckt eine raffinierte Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mensch und Technik, ein Mikrokosmos, der niemals schläft und immer wieder aufs Neue fasziniert.

Admiralitätsflagge, Foto: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

Mut zum Wandel

Containerterminals | Die Stapelkünstler

Terminals

Sie gehört zum gewohnten Hafenpanorama und wirkt von nahem doch oft einschüchternd: die gigantische Terminaltechnik, ein Anblick wie aus einem Science Fiction-Thriller. Die Rede ist von Containerbrücken, Portalkränen und Van Carriern, den hochbeinigen Containertransportern. Sie sind die Hingucker an den Hamburger Containerterminals, die alle Blicke auf sich lenken … und die Arbeitstiere, die rund um die Uhr Höchstleistungen vollbringen.

Containerterminal Altenwerder, Foto: HHM / Michael Lindner

Hightech Made in Hamburg

Auf Schicht | Arbeit im Containerhafen

Jobmotor

Vom Hamburger Hafen hängen direkt und indirekt über 155.000 Arbeitsplätze ab. In ganz Deutschland sind es sogar fast 270.000. Viele davon haben mit dem Container zu tun: Containerbrückenfahrer, Ladungskontrolleure, Zolldeklaranten, aber auch IT-Spezialisten, Ingenieure und, und, und. Die Mitarbeiter der Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG, größter Terminalbetreiber in der Hansestadt, geben einen Einblick in ihre ganz persönliche Containerwelt.

Containerbrückenfahrer am CTA, Foto: HHLA / Thies Rätzke

 Jobmotor Hamburger Hafen

Containertransport | Vom Hafen ins Hinterland

Hinterland

Der Hamburger Hafen ist eine Drehschreibe für weltweite Güterströme. Hier fließen Waren aus ganz Europa zusammen, um in die Welt verschifft zu werden. Anders herum kommen jedes Jahr Millionen von Tonnen nach Hamburg, um von hier aus bis zum endgültigen Zielort in Deutschland und Europa gebracht zu werden. Diese Verteillogistik ist mindestens ebenso komplex wie der Hafenumschlag selbst.

Containerbahnverkehre, Foto: HHM / Dietmar Hasenpusch

Wie kommt der Teddy nach Amerika?

Transport der Zukunft | Container – und was nun?

Zukunft

Ist der Container als Transportmittel der Weisheit letzter Schluss, oder wird sich die Logistikwelt weiterentwickeln und neue, noch effizientere Lösungen entwickeln? Wie sehen Containerschiffe in 30 Jahren aus? Und was müssen moderne Häfen in Zukunft leisten können? Rund um den Globus beschäftigen sich Reedereien, Hafengesellschaften, Innovationszentren und natürlich Forschungseinrichtungen aller Couleur mit diesen Fragen … und kommen zu teils spannenden Antworten.

Ausblick aus der Schiffsbrücke, Foto: HHM / Achim Multhaupt

Von der Vision zur Realität

Visionäre | Die Väter der Hamburger Container-Story

Helmuth Kern, Foto: HHLA

„Stillstand ist Rückschritt“ besagt ein bekanntes Zitat. Es ist genau das, was sie antreibt, die Visionäre, die Pioniere, die Vordenker. Immer vorwärts, nie zurück. Nicht reagieren, sondern selbst gestalten, Trends setzen, neue Wege gehen, Weitblick haben, Mut zeigen. Es gibt viele Persönlichkeiten, die den Hamburger Hafen mit ihren Ideen und Entscheidungen geprägt haben, zwei stechen jedoch besonders hervor, ein Lkw-Fahrer aus North Carolina und ein Kaufmannssohn von der Elbe.

Vision

Die Hamburger Container-Story

Video: 50 Jahre Container im Hamburger Hafen

Im Jahr 1968 lief das erste Containerschiff in den Hamburger Hafen ein. Kaum einer hätte damals geahnt, dass diese rustikalen Stahlboxen den Hafen und die gesamte Seefahrt stärker verändern würden, als jede andere Technologie zuvor. Heute bilden Container den Kern der Handelsschifffahrt. Diese Episode smartPORT TV widmet sich dem 50-jährigen Jubiläum der bunten Box.

Hafen Hamburg Marketing e.V. (HHM)

Pickhuben 6

20457 Hamburg

Deutschland

---

www.hafen-hamburg.de

Kooperation von

Hafen Hamburg Marketing e.V. (HHM),

Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG und

Hamburg Port Authority AöR

---

Impressum

 J

 1968

2018